14 women recognized and honored at AAUW luncheon


ABILENE, Texas - Eight Abilene women were honored for their high level of success at the eighth annual Women of Outstanding Achievement luncheon Monday.

The women were recognized by the Abilene chapter of the American Association of University Women at the ACU Hunter Welcome Center.

This year's honorees included:

Dr. Sandra Harper - President, McMurry University

Katie Alford - President, Community Foundation Abilene

Nanci Liles - Executive Director, Abilene Convention and Visitors Bureau Executive Director

Carole Pickett - Office Manager, Fellowship of Christian Athletes

June Wideman - Executive Assistant to First Financial Bank President Scott Dueser

Karen Turner-Austin Telco Federal Credit Union Board of Directors President

Carol Bardin Hall - Former First Lady of Hardin-Simmons University and recipient of the prestigious State of Texas Yellow Rose Award. This award is only awarded to Texas women for outstanding achievement.

Donna Reiff - Retired special needs educator, Cooper High School Green Team organizer.

This year's event brings the total number of honorees that have been named since the recognition event started in 2010 to 50.

Along with the eight women who were acknowledged, six other women earning degrees from Texas Tech University Health Science Center, Abilene Christian University, Hardin-Simmons University and McMurry University were honored at the luncheon and awarded scholarships totaling $15,000.

Scholarship honorees included:

Cynthia Niles - Abilene Christian University Nursing student

Ify Onyemelukwe - Hardin-Simmons University

Joy Okoro - McMurry University graduate

Demetris Hardy - Texas Tech School of Pharmacy in Abilene

Megan Butler - Pursuing a Biomedical Science degree at McMurry University

Carly Kahl - Seeking Ph.D. in history at Texas Tech in Lubbock.

This is AAUW Abilene's 85 th year to award scholarships to women in the Abilene area.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off