Arrington sworn in as Texas District 19 congressman


WASHINGTON, D.C. - Republican Rep. Jodey Arrington of the 19th Congressional District of Texas was sworn in Tuesday for his first term in the 115th Congress.

Arrington, who defeated Libertarian Party candidate Troy Bonar and Green Party candidate Mark Lawson in the 2016 general election, is just the fifth person to hold the congressional seat after taking the oath of office Tuesday.

"I consider this a sacred honor entrusted to me by God and the people of West Texas, and am committed to serving accordingly," Arrington said in a statement.

He replaces longtime District 19 Rep. Randy Neugebauer, who announced his retirement at the end of his term. Neugebauer had served the district since first winning the seat in 2003.

Arrington is a businessman based out of Lubbock and formerly served as an advisor in George W. Bush's administration with leadership roles in the FDIC and the Office of the Federal Coordinator for Gulf Coast Rebuilding. He has also served as chief of staff for the Texas Tech University system.

Texas' 19th Congressional District includes Bailey, Border, Castro, Cochran, Crosby, Fisher, Gaines, Garza, Hale, Haskell, Hockley, Howard, Jones, Kent, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Nolan, Parmer, Scurry, Shackelford, Stonewall, Taylor, Terry Throckmorton, Yoakum and Young counties as well as areas of Floyd and Stephens counties.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off