FCA All-Star coaches named at PlayMaker event


ABILENE, Texas - High school coaches and players gathered on Saturday to talk not just about sports, but also about life.

The fourth annual PlayMaker: Making a Difference event combined sports and team strategy, with adapting those skills to leading a productive life.

Speakers included local football coaches like Todd Moebes from Cooper, Hugh Sandifer from Wylie, and Hamlin's Russell Lucas who organizes the event.

Legendary Baylor and McMurry football coach Grant Teaff highlighted the day.

The coaches for this summer's Fellow of Christian Athletes All-Star games were also announced.

The red football team will be led by Ballinger's David Jones, while Greg Proffitt from Goldthwaite will head the blue team.

"It's going to be exciting to get to work with these young men, and share not just football, but share your faith," Proffitt said.

"This is the cream of the crop when you're talking about kids that involved with All-Star games," Jones added. "We feel truly blessed and honored to be able to interact with these kids in a great way for the All-Star Classic."

Assisting on the red squad will be Chad Barron (Baird), Steven Grisby (Roby), M.K. Hamilton (Rangers), Blake Sandford (Early) and Clay Vaughn (Wylie Junior High).

The blue team will be assisted by Isiah Archer (Rule), Mike Fullen (Abilene High), Lee Lewis (Moran), Jason Phillips (Forsan) and Justin Foss (Clack Middle School).

The 18th annual Myrle Greathouse All-Star Football Classic caps off two weekends of All-Star games and will be played Saturday, June 10, at 7 p.m. at Shotwell Stadium.

The men's and women's basketball games will be played on Saturday, June 3, at the Brownwood Coliseum, while Angelo State in San Angelo will host the softball and baseball games on Friday, June 9.

June 10 will also feature the volleyball game at Wylie High School.

Other Big Country coaches that will help in the FCA event include:

Shea Bacucom, Don Heseman - men's basketball

Danielle Carey, Blake Eddleman, Kurt Richardson - women's basketball

Laura Carr, Denise Skinner, Michele Velez - volleyball

Liz White, Alfonso Chavez - softball

Mark Adams, Cody Salyers - baseball