HSU duo named ASC Distinguished Scholar-Athletes


Hardin-Simmons women's soccer player Kami Jones and football player Conlan Aguirre have each been named the ASC Distinguished Scholar-Athlete for their sport in vote of the league's sports information directors.

The Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Teams recognizes student-athletes who achieve a high level of academic achievement (a 3.20 grade-point average or better) while competing as a starter or important reserve on their team. From that list - limited to one nominee per school in each ASC championship sport - the sports information directors from the 13 ASC member institutions select a Distinguished Scholar-Athlete in each sport.

Aguirre is the third Hardin-Simmons student-athlete to be named the Distinguished Scholar-Athlete in football following Travis Sugar (2012) and ZaVious Robbins (2010). Aguirre was a first-team All-ASC selection and was named CoSIDA Academic All-District, All-American and was a semifinalist for the Campbell Trophy. He has a 3.90 GPA as a math education major.

Kami Jones is the fifth consecutive HSU student-athlete to receive the women's soccer Distinguished Scholar-Athlete award and the seventh overall in the 10-year history of the award. Jones also joins former HSU standout Amy Kuykendall (2008, 2010) as the only two-time recipients.

A first-team scholar and athletic All-American by the NSCAA, Jones led the Cowgirls to the ASC title for the 14th straight year and to the NCAA Sweet 16. Jones was named the ASC Offensive Player of the Year after leading the ASC with 23 goals and 16 assists. She became the first student-athlete in ASC history to be named the CoSIDA Academic All-American of the Year in women's soccer. She has a 4.0 GPA as a molecular biology and biochemistry major.

The other distinguished scholar athletes for HSU were Emily Olguin in women's cross country, Lauren Wish is volleyball and Tanner Coffin men's soccer.

-Information provided by HSU Athletics

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off