Gov. Abbott declares state of disaster in Coleman County


AUSTIN, Texas - Gov. Greg Abbott declared a state of disaster for 31 counties in Texas Wednesday after much of the state was flooded from sustained rain.

Coleman County is the only Big Country county to make the list, and assistance will now be provided to the area by multiple state agencies.

Abbott also expressed his gratitude for first responders who have rescued people from rising waters in a statement. He also said it is "crucial that Texans remain vigilant and heed warnings and any evacuation notices from local officials in their areas."

Coleman had received 4.97 inches of rain throughout May as of Tuesday. Burkett, also in Coleman County, had received 9.3 inches of rain in May.

Click HERE to read the disaster declaration from Abbott.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off