Abilene High football players named to All-District teams

AHS All-District FB.jpg

Two Abilene High football players were honored on the All-District 3-6A First Team, and ten others on the Second Team as voted on by the district's coaches.

Linebacker Jorge Hernandez was the only unanimous selection for the Eagles, while Colton Wilson was named to the All-District first team as both a safety and a punter.

The second team was highlighted by senior wide receiver Reese Pettijohn, who finished with 33 catches for 488 yards and 7 touchdowns. Offensive linemen Khalil Spivey and Steven Sifuentes were also named to the second team. Seven AHS players were picked to the second team's defense -- linemen J.D. Dugger, Griffin Cooke, and Xavier Cortez, linebackers Juan Torres and Ryan Cruz, and defensive backs Phillip Tellez and Tyler Simpson.

Below is the full list of Abilene High players named to an All-District team.

First Team

Linebacker - Jorge Hernandez (unanimous selection)

Safety - Colton Wilson

Punter - Colton Wilson

Second Team

Wide Receiver - Reese Pettijohn

Guard - Khalil Spivey

Tackle - Steven Sifuentes

Defensive End - J.D. Dugger, Griffin Cooke

Defensive Tackle - Xavier Cortez

Linebacker - Juan Torres, Ryan Cruz

Cornerback - Tyler Simpson

Safety - Phillip Tellez

Honorable Mention

Quarterback - Kallin Sipe

Wide Receiver - Clay Cox

Tight End - Colby Ernst, Michael Bartlett

Center - Jaxon Smith

Linebacker - D'Anthony Franklin, Xavier Graves

Cornerback - Nathaniel Jones

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off